The current Executive Committee is:

  • Elizabeth Denham, Information Commissioner of UK (Chair)
  • Daniel Therrien, Privacy Commissioner of Canada
  • Marguerite Ouedraogo Bonane, President of CIL, Burkina Faso
  • Giovanni Buttarelli, EDPS and Ventislav Karadjov, Commission for Personal Data Protection, Bulgaria (Co-host 2018)
  • Besnik Dervishi, Information and Data Protection Commissioner, Albania (Host 2019)
  • Francisco Javier Acuña Llamas, President Commissioner, National Institute for Transparency, Access to Information and Protection of Personal Data (INAI), Mexico (Host 2020) (Observer to the Committee)


Committee profiles

Elizabeth Denham (Chair)

Elizabeth was appointed UK Information Commissioner in July 2016. Prior to this Elizabeth was the Information and Privacy Commissioner for British Columbia (2010-2016) and Assistant Privacy Commissioner of Canada from 2007 – 2010.

In 2013 Elizabeth received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for her service as an Officer of the Legislature of British Columbia, Canada. In 2011 she was honoured as a UBC distinguished alumni for her pioneering work in archives and leadership in the field of access and privacy. She is a visiting professor to the department of Information Studies at University College London.

Elizabeth was elected to the Committee in 2017.


Daniel Therrien

Daniel TherrienDaniel Therrien was appointed Privacy Commissioner of Canada in 2014 after three decades as a lawyer with various federal government departments that regularly deal with human rights issues. He began his federal government career practising correctional law before moving into immigration law, becoming Assistant Deputy Attorney General responsible for the Public Safety, Defence and Immigration portfolio in 2005. In that capacity, Daniel served in a leadership role giving legal advice to government on public safety and national security issues. He was also instrumental in negotiating the privacy principles that now govern information sharing between Canada and the U.S. under the Beyond the Border accord.

Daniel was elected to the Committee in 2015 and re-elected for a further 2 year term in 2017.

Marguerite Ouedraogo Bonane

Marguerite was appointed President of the Commission for Information Technology and Civil Liberties in September 2013. Previously she was the Director of Legal affairs for the Electronic Communications and Postal Regulatory Authority till 2009. Between 2002 and 2009, she served as General Counsel of the National Telecommunications Regulatory Authority and then as Head of Legal Affairs.

She is the vice-president of the AFAPDP and of the African network for the Protection of Personal Data.

Marguerite was elected to the Committee in 2017.

Giovanni Buttarelli

Giovanni was appointed European Data Protection Supervisor on 4December 2014. Prior to this he served as the Assistant Supervisor, EDPS from 2009 till 3 December 2014. Before joining the EDPS, he was Secretary General at the Italian Data Protection Authority from 1997-2009. As a Cassation judge in the Italian judiciary, he has long been involved in many initiatives and committees on data protection and related issues at international level.

Giovanni joined the Committee in 2017 as the co-host of the 40th Conference.

Ventislav Karadjov

Ventislav was appointed Chairman of the Bulgaria Commission for Personal Data Protection on 15 April 2014. Prior to this Ventislav was an adviser to the Minister for International Affairs in the field of international activities and anti-corruption, as well as a Chief Expert Associate to the 41st and 42nd National Assembly оn matters related to the control of security services, special surveillance devices, and access to data according to the Electronic Communications Act. He has occupied a number of professional legal positions on international projects concerning anti-corruption and creation of functioning democratic institutions. Previously he was a legal adviser and programme director at Transparency Without Borders Association, a branch of Transparency International. He has worked on projects for international institutions such as the European Commission, the US Agency for International Development, the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe, and the UN Development Programme. Ventislav is the vice-chairman of the EU Article 29 Working Party.

Ventislav joined the Committee in 2017 as the co-host of the 40th Conference. The co-hosts get one vote only.

Besnik Dervishi

Besnik is the Information and Data Protection Commissioner for Albania. Prior to this Besnik was elected as a member of the General Assembly of the Republic of Albania and was a Minister at the Ministry of Territory Adjustment and Tourism.

Besnik joined the Committee in 2017 as an observer. Albania will be hosting the 41st Conference in 2019.


Francisco Javier Acuña Llamas (Observer to the Committee)

President Commissioner, National Institute for Transparency, Access to Information and Protection of Personal Data (INAI), Mexico (Host 2020) (Observer to the Committee)

Service of former Chairs and Committee members

Under the Conference Rules and Procedures there are limited terms for each member of the Executive Committee. The service of the former chairs is acknowledged:

Jacob Kohnstamm, The Netherlands (November 2011 – October 2014)


John Edwards, New Zealand (October 2014 – September 2017)


Isabelle Falque-Pierrotin, France (2017-2018)


The service of the following former Committee members is acknowledged:

Member Country Years
Jacqueline Peschard Mexico 2011-12
Timothy Pilgrim Australia 2011-13
José Clastornik Uruguay 2011-13
Wojciech Wiewiórowski Poland 2012-14
Marie Shroff New Zealand 2013-14
Julie Brill USA 2011-15
Jacob Kohnstamm Netherlands 2011-15
Drudeisha Madhub Mauritius 2013-15
Wilbert Tomesen Netherlands 2015-16
John Edwards New Zealand 2014-17
Said Ihrai Morocco 2015-17
Lahoussine Aniss Morocco 2017
Stephen Kai-yi Wong Hong Kong 2016-2018
Isabelle Falque-Pierrotin France 2014-2018