There follows a list of current observers accredited under article 5.3 of the Conference’s rules and procedures

  • Rule 5.3(a) Public entity other than an international organisation
  • Rule 5.3(b) international organisation
  • Rule 5.3(c) Reciprocal recognition


Public entity other than an international organisation Duration of observer status
Abu Dhabi Global Market Registration Authority (2017) 39th annual meeting
Bermuda Information Commissioner’s Office (2015) To April 2019
Bermuda Ministry of Education and Economic Development Department of E-Commerce (2014) To April 2019
Canadian International Industrial Security Directorate (2013) To April 2019
Cayman Islands Information Commissioner’s Office (2015) To April 2019
Chile Chilean Information Commission (2015) To April 2019
Macao Office for Personal Data Protection (2011) To April 2019
Malaysia Department of Personal Data Protection (2017) 39th annual meeting
Netherlands Authority for Consumers & Markets (2015) To April 2019
Republic of Korea Korea Communications Commission (2017) 39th annual meeting
Republic of  Korea Ministry of Public Administration and Security (now known as Ministry of the Interior) (2011) To April 2019
Russia The Federal Service for Supervision of Communications, Information Technology, and Mass Media (2016) 38th – 40th annual meetings (inclusive)
Singapore Personal Data Protection Commission (2017) 39th annual meeting
United States of America Commodity Futures Trading Commission (2014) To April 2019
United States of America Department of Homeland Security Privacy Office (2015) To April 2019
United States of America Federal Communications Commission (2015) To April 2019
U.S. Department of Justice Chief Privacy and Civil Liberties Officer (2017) 39th annual meeting
International organisation Duration of observer status
Association Francophone Des Autorités De Protection Des Données Personnelles (French-Speaking Association of Personal Data Protection Authorities) (2012) To April 2019
Council of Europe (2015) To April 2019
European Commission (2013) To April 2019
European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (2015) To April 2019
International Committee of the Red Cross (2016) 38th – 40th annual meetings (inclusive)
International Organisation for Migration (2017) 39th annual meeting
Organisation of Economic Cooperation and Development (2015) To April 2019
UN Executive Office of the Secretary-General (2015) To April 2019
UNESCO (2017) 39th annual meeting
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (2017) 39th annual meeting
Reciprocal recognition Duration of observer status
APEC Electronic Commerce Steering Group (2016) To December 2017


Former observers
The arrangements for admitting and accrediting observers changed in 2011 and again in 2015. Complete and reliable records do not exist for observers prior to 2015. The following organisations are not currently observers.

38th International Conference
Belgium Supervisory Authority for Police Information Management (2016); Japan Personal Information Protection Commission (2016); Kenya Commission on Administrative Justice (2016); Montenegro Agency for Personal Data Protection and Free Access to Information (2016); Nigeria Cybercrime Advisory Council (2016); Nigeria National Identity Management Commission (2016); USA Department of Justice (2016); USA Office of the Privacy and Data Protection, Washington State (2016); International Organisation for Migration (2016)

37th International Conference
Republic of Trinidad and Tobago Ministry of Communications (2015 – 2016)

36th International Conference
Japan Specific Personal Information Protection Commission (2014–2016); Singapore Infocomm Development Authority (2014 – 2016)

35th International Conference
Ecuador Superintendencia de Telecomunicaciones (SUPERTEL) (2013 – 2016); Singapore Personal Data Protection Commission (2013 – 2016); South Korea National Information Security Agency (2013 – 2016)

34th International Conference
Ecuador Dirección Nacional de Registro de Datos Públicos (DINARDAP) (2012 – 2016); Organization of American States (2012 – 2016)

33rd International Conference
Japan Consumer Affairs Agency (2011–2016)